thoughts

Coming from Home to Home

The view from my flight home.

Heading towards the Sun. Heading towards home.

After an emotional farewell in BG and tears in New York City, there were even more tears as I took the flight across the Atlantic (partly from the sickening feeling of turbulence, but mostly at the thought of ending my journey).

I get nervous a lot over silly things. Although I never expected to feel nervous about going home. I guess it was because I was scared of letting go, again. You see, I like to get comfortable, find a routine, find my place, get to know people and places, make memories, hold onto those feelings and moments that I know are so special. The moments that you know you will look back on and think,  “that moment right there, well it was bloomin’ perfect.” The thought of upping and moving, displacing myself, things changing in ways I can’t predict, makes me feel nauseous. I try my very hardest to learn how to “go with the flow” and accept that when one door closes another one opens, but it doesn’t make it any easier. I felt compelled to take this trip, to study and live abroad, to travel. So I did.

Now what?

That moment when I saw my sister through the crowds with her arms waving in the air and my brother in law waiting to hug me, was exactly what I needed. I felt thankful for having such a supportive family. Obviously I cried (it’s a pattern). It was so surreal to know I was back in England. Looking down from the plane, the hills and the shades of green looked so vivid, with no corn in sight. Back on the ground, it felt warm outside compared to the brutal temperatures I was used to in Ohio. I was home.

After hugs and kisses from Mum, Dad and the rest of the gang it suddenly felt as if I had never been away. I’ve settled back in nicely with Christmas being magical since snow decided to make an appearance on Boxing Day. The accents, people, food and TV shows I know and love have made me feel all warm and fuzzy, as they say.

2014 has been an unforgettable year, one I am sad to say goodbye to. Letting go is difficult but we must look forward to the future and aim to make some more cracking memories. I said yes to so many opportunities in 2014, I learnt that I can do the things I put my mind to, I met wonderful people and grew closer to my family and friends back home, my eyes were opened and now it is crystal clear that home is where the heart is.

Cheers to 2014, I hope everyone will be safe and not hugging the loo all night after one too many Sambuca shots.

I cannot wait to see what 2015 has in store for us all.

Happy New Year!

Hannah xo

Leave a Reply

