a slice of adventure

A Slice of Adventure: Philadelphia

So the story begins with an advert in NME (New Musical Express) magazine in the early 1960’s. From what I gather (there is a chance I got the story mixed up) there was a girl from Liverpool who liked The Beatles and for some reason got a lot of letters. So many in fact NME placed an advert saying if anyone wanted to be connected with a pen pal they could. So my Mum did and so did Jo from Philadelphia, USA. 50 years, a few visits and countless letters later they’re still friends. Over fall break I got the chance to go and meet Jo and her family for the very first time.

What a trip.

P1030294

Who’s is the big chair at the back you ask? Oh George Washington’s!!!!

P1030333

William Penn’s statue on top of City Hall

P1030282 P1030366 P1030347 P1030344 P1030343 P1030322 P1030316 P1030304

We walked a lot and saw a lot and laughed a lot. Perfect. I had some of the most incredible food, a proper Philly Cheese Steak (no I didn’t eat the lot), soft pretzels, cannoli’s, delicious pasta, blueberry pie – you name it, I probably ate it. We saw ol’ George Washington’s actual chair. HE SAT THERE. As an American Studies student I have to say it was pretty amazing seeing where the declaration of independence was signed and see Betsy Ross’s house.

It was also lovely to spend time in a real home, with homemade meals and tea before bed. Ahh. I wish Mum could have visited Jo with me, but won’t be long before we can all Skype together!

One thing I’ve learnt to do whilst on study abroad… pack lightly. I love not waiting at baggage claim!

Until next time, Philly.

Hannah xo

Leave a Reply

