lemonade letters

Lemonade Letters #4: August & Yes

Dear August,

You were the most amazing month of the year and probably my life so far. August , you tested my emotions like never before, tested my ability to survive on no sleep, opened my eyes to the differences in the states mini countries in America, tested my body with America’s ridiculous portion sizes and taught me how to cross a road over here. (Its hard).

I started August in LA and ended in my new home of Bowling Green, Ohio.

The conversations I’ve had with people from all over the country and the world are what have made my travels so special. Simply talking with people here is the reason I’ve learnt so much about this weird and wonderful country. You never know what a smile or a hello can lead to. That sounds sinister but lets think positive. You could meet the person who will change the course of your life, learn parts of a new language or discover the best dessert you’ve ever eaten in your life. The last one really happened to me.

Everyone should at least try being more open-minded and take up every opportunity, even the ones that scare us. You learn things about yourself, your friends and your world.

I’ve still not quite conquered saying yes to the scary opportunities, but I’m getting there.

August taught me not to be afraid to live.

P1000624

A lesson I’ll never forget.

Until next year,

Hannah xo

 

 

Leave a Reply

