oh hi, ohio / study abroad

Finding my feet.

And breathe………

Phew. I’ve been busy. But I’m lifting my nose out of the books for an hour to show a little love to this blog which I’ve been rejecting lately.

The American university experience is insane. Totally insane.  In the past three or four weeks I’ve met more people I can comprehend, ate too much, slept too little, made smore’s by the bonfire, been to a barn dance, become a gladiator (Scandal is where it’s at, Kerry Washington is an angel) cried a little but laughed even more so.

Every day I wake up and wander around Bowling Green, Ohio in my own little world. Even after being in the US for 7 weeks already, it still hasn’t me. I’ve spoken about this in previous posts but in all seriousness it hasn’t. Whilst everything is so different and overwhelming I don’t think I’m able to process it yet. In fact I don’t think it will happen until I adapt back into my old life back home. Only then will I be like, “Oh my God, I spent those 6 months of my life in America”.

10603775_10152449148998922_4933850288806491508_n 10639629_10152433230408922_3642602213103164522_n 10645304_10152433230488922_3398430636412858864_n

The biggest university difference so far is the sheer volume of reading, assignments and general work. In England you generally don’t get assignments for the first 4 weeks, sometimes even after that. Here in BG I had assignments in week 1. Having said that the expectations and levels are slightly different. With England we have it drilled into us that we must be analytical and let our voice come through. American’s work slightly different and it is more about memory, facts and testing your knowledge. (Pray for me and my awful memory).

I’m slowly getting myself into a routine and as I said I would I’ve found myself several coffee shops which I haunt for hours on end whilst I do my work. The town really is a community and they don’t begrudge us students with our notebooks taking up a whole table whilst we get our caffeine fix.

I’ve also been planning my fall and thanksgiving breaks, its nice to have something to look forward to. I’ll be heading to Philadelphia next month to meet my Mum’s pen pal who she’s written to since she was 15! She visited my Mum twice before I was born so I’m beyond excited to meet her after hearing so much about her family. For Thanksgiving my friend Vicki (who came to my uni on exchange from BG) has kindly offered to take me to her house. She’s been amazing at helping me settle in, I’m so grateful for everything she’s done for me over the past 9 months.

This weekend I’m off to Toledo Zoo; apparently they have polar bears! I’ve never seen one in real life so its a big deal okay!

Sorry for the choppiness, just trying to update and get the important stuff down. Hopefully I can write up some more in depth posts soon and share ALL the photos.

Hope everyone is well. Let me know what you’ve been up to!

Hannah xo

 

Leave a Reply

