a slice of adventure

Fight The Power: Buffet’s, Pancakes and Results.

This week my little Londoner friend Helen came up to stay with me for a couple of days. Already, it had been over a month since I last saw her, when I visited her in London. It’s safe to say neither of us were cool with that gap. It was time.

Now I’m not sure if this is something I do or its a standard thing but I associate people with places. Kinda like when you used to see a teacher shopping in the supermarket and it was just weird. I mean where were their teacher clothes? You know, weird. I associate Helen with university, our halls, the library and that freezing cold lecture theatre we spent our Tuesday mornings in.  Now she was here in my home town seeing what the other half of my life was like. More kinds of weird. Anyway, I was so excited for her arrival I had planned out a packed itinerary of what we were going to do and see. #StupidlyOrganised.

First up, the compulsory catch up coffee. Second, quick walk around the city centre before the necessary stock pile of snacks at Tesco. Third, dodge the rain and get home to a Leo D movie. Best moment so far, Helen telling my Mum to read Keith Richards biography because of the drug-addled memoirs.

Living in Chester means of course that a day in Liverpool only costs an extra £2.50 more than the 10 minute bus journey from my house to town. So it would be rude not to show Helen around. With a head like a sieve, I forgot my umbrella that day so I had to do the whole jacket over my head to protect my freshly washed hair. I also forgot my camera so insta-snaps will have to do!

Catalogue posing at the docks…

IMG_20140709_215552

 

Converting a Stones fan to a Beatles fan…

 

IMG_20140708_234822

 

We shopped up in Harvey Nichol’s Beauty Bazaar,  tested our noses in Lush and ate our weight in food at Red Hot World Buffet.

Speaking of food, it’s pretty much an unwritten rule that if you live in Chester you need to go to Hickory’s, an American BBQ style joint down by the River Dee. A rule I’d never fulfilled. Shocking, I know. Laura’s recommendation of the pancakes went down a treat at brunch (I did Brunch am I Carrie Bradshaw yet?).

Warm blueberry pancakes with cream and a tub of warm syrup. De-lic-ious. You also get a little bag of popcorn on arrival. Swish right?

IMG_20140709_220210

 

I also found my new addiction. The Chunky Monkey milkshake (Banana and Peanut Butter). Unreal.

IMG_20140709_215110

 

Mid-pancake I got a call from Ellie, telling me how our first year results were available now. Which meant I could find out my fate and see whether I would be allowed to go on study abroad. Cue the palpitations, tingly arms and butterflies.

Since I came out with a 2:1 for the year it means… I’M GOING! I came out with a couple of firsts in my modules and discovered that the essay and exam I thought I bombed, I actually did really well in! I struggled so much this year with adjusting to the style of university work, writing legible lecture notes, referencing and all its pain, working out what the hell I’m doing and learning how to write essays again after two years on Photoshop and InDesign. But I proved to myself I could do it and I have all my friends and family to thank for that.

Helen posted this hilarious instagram collage of some of our finest moments, including my Easter essay breakdown and one of the many times we quoted Fight The Power, the soundtrack to our second semester thanks to Do The Right Thing.

insta

 

Helen’s instagram

 

We resumed the pancake eating and went off to celebrate with a couple of afternoon cocktails because… why not?

Hannah xo

2 thoughts on “Fight The Power: Buffet’s, Pancakes and Results.

    • Thank you so much! I recommend two rich tea biscuits with peanut butter, sandwich style. Naughty, but ao worth it. Also just wanted to say thank you for stopping by and taking the time to commen! I’ve been reading your blog for so long, I love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

