lemonade letters / thoughts

Lemonade Letters #1: May & Gratitude

9973f8790ffa30697a06c0c7734df454

source

Dear May,

You helped me to understand what it means to be aware of my thoughts,  my actions and the consequences.

Discontent. Comparison. Envy. Blind sighted. Acceptance. Gratitude.

We’ve all been there. It’s a vicious circle but once you recognise the signs it becomes easier to break the habit. It begins with a niggling feeling and you become uncomfortable in your own skin. Everything appears to lose the shine it once had and you become un-consolable. You look to the next person for inspiration which turns into comparison. What you haven’t got. Along comes an old friend, envy. The grass is undoubtedly greener on the other side and you have an eye colour to match. It is far too easy to become blind sighted by all your faults and the lack of something’s in your life. But what if you just stop for a second and breathe…

…and accept that you don’t have all your wants right now? But you may do someday, and maybe you already have what you need.

You can then begin to be grateful for what you have in this moment. For me I learnt that it is my relationships with friends and family that keep me grounded. They remind me, whenever my mind tells me I am too this, that or the other, that I am incredibly lucky.

May, you taught me how to truly count my blessings. Speaking of gratitude… thank you.

Until next year,

June.

Lemonade Letters was inspired by Emily and her beautiful Dear July series.

6 thoughts on “Lemonade Letters #1: May & Gratitude

  1. I love this post! I know exactly the feeling. Sometimes I forget to be grateful for the little things in my life when I get caught up in wanting more.

    hellomissjordan.blogspot.co.uk xx

Leave a Reply

